If you are in danger, please use a safer computer, or call 000 (Australian emergency number) or 1800 RESPECT (1800 737 732) (advice)

To leave this site quickly, click the Quick Exit button

Common Risk Assessment Framework (CRAF)

Common Risk Assessment Framework (CRAF)

Common Risk Assessment Framework (CRAF)

There are currently three different levels of CRAF, called practice guides, which represent different types of assessment.

Practice Guide 3 (Specialist Risk Assessment) is designed for professionals working in the following areas:

  • specialist women’s family violence services
  • men’s behaviour change programs
  • family violence counselling
  • a specialist family violence accommodation service (such as a refuge)
  • specialist family violence courts.

This guide is used when it has been established that someone is experiencing or has experienced family violence.

Training in Practice Guide 3 is being rolled out across Victoria. Training dates and registration details are on the Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria website.

Further resources

  • See our materials and resources section for the CRAF manual and Practice Guide 3 handbook.  
  • Download the at-a-glance tool for identifying the evidence-based risk factors from the CRAF that increase the likelihood of a victim being killed or seriously injured.